Moderator: HAZ - Moderators

Linked Guides none
Linked Areas none
RedRoxx44
Pic·tur·esque·pelli
City, State: outside, anywhere

What do Special Places Mean to you

Post by RedRoxx44 » Jul 07 2014 3:23 pm

I don't know why I love the Galiuro mountains like I do. I have never loved a "thing" or place like this one. Not my childhood home, not many other more lovely and amenable places I have been.
It certainly didn't start out that way. My first trip in the dry and desolate times; almost no water in Powers spring. My second trip backpacking I became ill and my partners ended up altering their trip and I ended up going home with a bitter taste in my mouth. Over time I visited many places here, several times; I completed all the trails in the range. That wasn't the point. I had found a place that felt so much like home, and has been to many others over the years. I studied the human and natural history I could find, I talked to ranchers, I spoke to other hikers avid about this place like myself. I hiked alone, I hiked with others, I saw no one else, I saw groups. Nothing drove me away, I was never bored or made me think of other better places.
Snapshots---
I have several collages of Galiuros photos on my walls. One in my kitchen I can rinse dishes in the sink and look up and am immediately transported to a dark, clear trail in Rattlesnake canyon near the Pipestem confluence, part of the old road. It is lined with leaves, a tunnel of semi darkness, with glowing green vegetation surrounding it in the late light. I feel such intense pleasure. To walk this section is like I am walking on air.