How Much.. and what kind of Trail food do YOU bring

Moderator: HAZ - Moderators

Linked Guides none
Linked Areas none
Stavman
City, State: Glendale

How Much.. and what kind of Trail food do YOU bring

Post by Stavman » Feb 09 2016 5:30 pm

I keep thinking back to my Old Days of Backpacking (20+ years ago).. Top Raman...Oatmeal....Choc Pudding in my Water Bottle...
Ahhh Those where the days... :lol: :lol: :lol: :sweat:

Ive been dehydrating food, jerky mainly, for a Few years now... so when I decided to start Backpacking again in Nov 2015... I was amazed at the Options these days... I mean I could have Steak and Lobster... if I wanted ;)

Bout 10yrs ago.. Wife and I did a 3day 2 Nights at Ramona Falls In the Mt Hood Wilderness area... Got some Mt House (I think) Freeze dried meals... yer basic oats and Freeze Dried Coffee.... It was ok I guess... Dont remember it being Nasty... but was spendy.. and well.... was Trail Food...

So with the endless Web Resources available these days, in November, i stumbled upon "Recipes for Adventure" by Glenn McAllister..... My new Hiking Food Bible... and yes it was a Zen moment for me :y:

I mean... dehydrating Chili.... who woulda thunk It... So I immediately ordered the book and started reading...

Ok.... I learned so much... spent a week dehydrating everything I could Find.. Bannans, Onions, Peppers, Serrano Peppers, Beef, Fake Crab, Potatoes (awesome Potato Bark... mmmmmm).. Ratatouille, Home made Chili, Tomatos, Salsa, Shrooms... and Im sure at least 10 more things....LOL... Also did Eggs and polenta...MAN that is good... with ham and peppers and Cheese...Ymmy Breakfast..

So...as you can guess... I am hooked.... Now that said... it is cheaper.. does take some time, but so worth It..and when vaccu packed... can tuck em in any corner of yer Pack