Moderator: HAZ - Moderators

Linked Descriptions none
Linked Areas none
matthewkphx
Exploring Kokopelli
City, State: phoenix

AZ cold: down or synthetic?

Post by matthewkphx » Jul 20 2014 9:30 am

I'm still pretty new to backpacking but I'm tired of being cold at camp at night before bed (and in the morning) when the temps are around freezing. I think I'm going to invest in a Montbell Alpine down jacket.

Any thoughts on down vs synthetic? We live in a relatively dry climate, so down makes sense, right? I've got a nice shell to wear over it if there is any rain.

Nighthiker
HAZopelli
City, State: Payson

Re: AZ cold: down or synthetic?

Post by Nighthiker » Jul 20 2014 10:25 am

I have both and I recently added a Snugpak sleeping bag to my inventory which I have been using the past couple of months. I tent, popup camp backpack and bicycle camp/tour and I also use a sleeping pad as well. Been very pleased with the Snugpak and some bicycle tourist told me about this brand of sleeping bag.
jk

azbackpackr
River Paddler
City, State: Flagstaff, Arizona

Post by azbackpackr » Jul 20 2014 4:48 pm

I lean toward lightening my pack without sacrificing warmth, since I tend to sleep cold. I have never liked synthetic sleeping bags, jackets or vests. I prefer down. I have a Marmot Helium sleeping bag, rated to 15 degrees, which means I'm usually cold if it gets down to 30. :( But it's a very nice bag, and I tend, at my age, to avoid camping in weather colder than about 40 degrees at night. I didn't used to avoid this, however. Anyway, this bag weighs 2 pounds and packs to the size of a small watermelon. I got it on sale (you will cringe when you see the regular price). I use a down vest, but am thinking about buying an SUL (superultralight) down jacket as well. I want one of the kind that packs up really small. I always use a stocking cap.

Down is a lot lighter than synthetic.