Moderator: HAZ - Moderators

Linked Descriptions none
Linked Areas none
corlukan
Exploring Kokopelli
City, State: Yuma

Need a cheap tent

Post by corlukan » Jun 18 2007 8:59 am

I am new to backpacking and would like some tent advice. I would like to find a lightweight 2-person tent, but only want to spend upwards of $125. I have scoured ebay, my local REI, online stores, etc. and have really come to no decision about what is best. A customer service rep. from Campmor recommended the Kelty Teton II.

Just how good/bad are the $35 Sam's Club tents for sale and what differentiates them from the $300 Big Agnes, MSR and other tents I see at REI?

Cory

te_wa
Squirrelock Holmes
City, State: 221b Baker St.

Re: Need a cheap tent

Post by te_wa » Jun 18 2007 9:59 am

let me get back to you on that, Ive been searching for a light solo tent. BRB
:D

djui5
Seed Gatherin' Kokopelli
City, State: Apache Junction, AZ

Post by djui5 » Jun 18 2007 7:10 pm

I bought one of those $35 tents from Wal-Mart. After getting some new tent stakes, it works fine. I don't do any serious camping in it though, but as an overnight tent it's great. I haven't slept in it in the rain, so I'm not sure how it'll fair there.

te_wa
Squirrelock Holmes

Post by te_wa » Jun 18 2007 7:58 pm

ok this Cabelas tent won backpacker magazines "best budget tent" and it looks like a solid choice for the money.
Over here we have a nice and affordable Coleman model.
both are of decent quality, much better than a wally world model.

Hoffmaster
Bum Climbin' Kokopelli
City, State: Canton, OH

Post by Hoffmaster » Jun 18 2007 8:32 pm

Mike, er, I mean te-wa, that Cabela's tent goes over this dude's budget. I was going to suggest maybe saving up for another week or so. It would be a lot easier to find a decent 2 person tent in the $140-$150 range. That Cabelas tent would be a good choice, or my current personal favorite, the Sirius from Sierra Designs. Should be about the same price at REI as the Cabelas tent.