Battery Replacements for PLBs/EPIRB's

Moderator: HAZ - Moderators

Linked Guides none
Linked Areas none
AZClaimjumper
City, State: Reno, Nevada

Battery Replacements for PLBs/EPIRB's

Post by AZClaimjumper »

It would have cost me $150.00 to have my expired battery pack of THREE CR123A batteries replaced by the manufacturer. I've been carrying the ACR ResQLink PLB for almost 7 years, the battery pack expired 2 years ago. I've been reluctant to pay $150.00 to have the batteries replaced. Earlier this year I discovered an alternative, Beacon Battery Replacement (https://beaconbatteryreplacement.com/). They have a variety of replacement battery paks for many popular PLBs/EPIRBs.

I paid $39.00; the replacement was an easy drop-in, plug-in replacement.
chumley
City, State: Tempe, AZ

Re: Battery Replacements for PLBs/EPIRB's

Post by chumley »

I'm all for saving money and looking for a deal, but if there's one thing that I'm perfectly ok with spending the money to get the OEM part from the manufacturer, it's the single most important piece of life-saving emergency equipment that I carry. But it's cool that here in America we are free to make our own choices.
33s over 45s
outdoor_lover
City, State: Scottsdale, AZ

Post by outdoor_lover »

@chumley
Pretty much how I feel about camera batteries too. Ask a camera repair shop what the number 1 reason for camera breakage or failure is. I pay too much for cameras to possibly ruin them with after market batteries.
Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in a pretty & well preserved body, but rather to skid in broadside, totally worn out & proclaiming, "Wow What a Ride!"
big_load
City, State: Andover, NJ

Post by big_load »

I have a year left on my batteries. I've been hoping to see a ResQLink update before I had to get new ones.
AZClaimjumper

Post by AZClaimjumper »

@chumley