Moderator: HAZ - Moderators

Linked Guides none
Linked Areas none
New2hyk
City, State: scottsdale, AZ

NewB hydration question

Post by New2hyk » Jan 29 2012 10:33 am

Hi,
I am very new to hiking but is looking to buy atleat a 3L hydration pak/day pak gear with a reasonable price tag. With your experience :) , what would you go and buy now?
:thanx: in advance.

big_load
City, State: Andover, NJ

Re: NewB hydration question

Post by big_load » Jan 29 2012 10:43 am

I wouldn't confine my search to items marketed specifically as hydration packs. My choice for most day trips is an Osprey Talon 22 with a 3L Platypus Hoser.

azbackpackr
City, State: Flag-summer-Needles-winter

Post by azbackpackr » Jan 29 2012 10:57 am

Camelbak or Platypus products work well for most of us. Knockoff bladders tend to leak or worse, they'll work fine for awhile, until one day they suddenly burst all over everything. Which could be dangerous in summer, if that's all the water you have.

This is for anyone on a budget, not aimed at anyone in particular: