Elevation data loading in TOPO

Moderator: HAZ - Moderators

Linked Guides none
Linked Areas none
azdesertfather
City, State: Tucson, AZ

Elevation data loading in TOPO

Post by azdesertfather » Nov 21 2009 8:51 pm

Hey everyone, stupid question, but I just can't figure this out. ](*,) I'm sure it's something obvious. When I load a track into TOPO! Arizona, how do I get it to fix the GPS elevation data, and tell me the AEG?

Thanks in advance! BTW, hopefully it won't make it more challenging, but I'm using the Mac version.
"I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately, to front only the essential facts of life, and see if I could not learn what it had to teach, and not, when I came to die, discover that I had not lived." — Henry David Thoreau

Grasshopper
City, State: Scottsdale, AZ

Re: Elevation data loading in TOPO

Post by Grasshopper » Nov 21 2009 9:18 pm

Dave- I'm no expert in TOPO! and I do use the non-Mac version, but try this: after loading the track and viewing it on the map, put your cursor somewhere on the track and right-click your mouse and you will see a screen pop up with an option to "build profile". Click on this option and then it will should quickly build the profile, then when the track profile comes up, look down in the lower right hand corner and hopefully the calculated data for what you are looking for will appear there?
(Outside.. "there is No Place Like It!!")

joebartels
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Post by joebartels » Nov 21 2009 9:27 pm

Yes exactly what Grasshopper said.

If it's the current track in your GPS Unit then
Handhelds => Import from (GPS or .txt) Wizard => In a GPS receiver that is now connected to the PC

if it's a .gpx file then (perhaps if you downloaded a Garmin TRACK from HAZ)
Handhelds => Import from (GPS or .txt) Wizard => In a .gpx file which has waypoints, routes and/or tracks in it
then the important part is to select X track as freehand route