REI Stoke 19 Daypack--Clearance Sale

Backpacks, Daypacks, Hydration Packs, etc...

Moderator: HAZ - Moderators

Linked Guides none
Linked Areas none
azbackpackr
River Paddler
City, State: Flagstaff, Arizona

REI Stoke 19 Daypack--Clearance Sale

Post by azbackpackr » Jan 09 2010 7:01 am

I just ordered this daypack to replace my REI Flash daypack I have been using for a couple of years. The Flash pack is very comfortable, but I am a "fusser." I need my chapstick. I need my hanky. I forgot to put my sunglasses on. My knee starts to hurt--where's my Ibuprofen? My cell phone rings (Hey, I hike, bike and ski alone. When I do hike with friends I try to remember to have it off, or they can get very annoyed!) I want a quick snack while I'm walking. I need this, I want that. My ski pants don't have pockets. My hiking pants do, and I do fill them with my fussy stuff, plus more fussy stuff inside my pack.

Ok, so this REI Stoke 19 I just ordered from the clearance sale even has pockets in the hipbelt!!! Woohoo!!! It is just the kind of overkill on a daypack that I was looking for, but is made with the lightweight material. I can't wait for it to arrive! I hope it fits well.

With the Flashpack, I had to stop, take it off, take off my mittens, undo the drawstring and grapple with jacket and other stuff in there, often removing a pile of stuff and having to place it on top of my skis, just to find those inside pockets where I keep all my fussy stuff! And I never did use my reversible Flashpack as a stuffsack. Plus, I still will have it if I want to use it. (Te-wa knows...I never get rid of anything! His museum is lacking, due to me holding on to gear for 35 years...)

Anyone else using this pack? The reviews said some people are using it for biking, so that is good, too, since I bike all the time. Anyway, it's in today's REI clearance sale.
There is a point of no return unremarked at the time in most lives. Graham Greene The Comedians