Women's Backpack

Backpacks, Daypacks, Hydration Packs, etc...

Moderator: HAZ - Moderators

Linked Guides none
Linked Areas none
tracker
Exploring Kokopelli
City, State: Chandler, AZ

Women's Backpack

Post by tracker » Sep 26 2002 10:40 am

I've been backpacking for over 4 years now. I tried on many backpacks and gone through about 4 different internal frames before I found my Eureka Torrid. However, my wife wants to start backpacking and I don' t have a clue about womans packs. How should they ride, different suspension, etc. I'd perfer that she bought an internal frame. Any suggestions or stores. We wil be checking out REI this Sunday. Any online stores? :?:

Randy
Shalako Anciano
City, State: Scottsdale, AZ

pack

Post by Randy » Sep 26 2002 12:17 pm

Tracker: Torso length is critical, as is the ability to adjust the shoulder straps to position the sternum strap appropriately to a woman's physique. Several pack manufacturers design specific woman's models. Internal frames are closer fitting and better off trail or in steep, rocky, or precarious situations. They also rarely cool as well as externals in hot weather, since air circulation around the back is reduced. External's carry very heavy loads better, at some loss of balance (except for Dana Design, who makes the cadillac of externals as well as great internal..)

A good plan for a backpacking pack is to take a duffel bag with all her gear; sleeping bag, tent, water bottles, clothes and all the stuff you plan to foist off on her from your pack ( :roll: ) Pack candidate packs in the store and see how they fit fully burdened. All packs feel pretty good empty, test them fully loaded.