Moderator: HAZ - Moderators

Linked Descriptions none
Linked Areas none
The_Dude
Hortipelli
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Glen Canyon Dam to Lee's Ferry

Post by The_Dude » Mar 23 2016 12:17 pm

I am fairly new to the kayaking world having only gone on about a half dozen trips, and just recently got my own boat over the winter. I just have not found anything close to the amount of info that Hike AZ provides from a kayak site. A few friends and I were thinking about doing the stretch of the Colorado from Glen Canyon Dam to Lee's Ferry by way of commercial backhaul. We were going to go to Lee's Ferry and have our kayaks brought back to the dam, and then either camp that night at Ferry Swale, or paddle down a bit to one of the other camp areas. Two main questions for anyone who has done it before and could offer some advice (hopefully azbackpacker, you seem to be an expert on the area :D):

1. Timing - we were looking at about mid-June to take advantage of decent temps, but hopefully before monsoons become an issue, is this a good time or would there be better? I know the water is cold pretty much year-round.

2. Technical skill - This is rated as class I and class II for water which should be fine, but I just wanted to make sure my little kayak should be able to handle it. I have a 10' ride in el cheapo (Sundophin Aruba, from the lovely Sears Outlet for a good deal) that maneuvers well, but doesn't track the greatest. All of us have either 10 or 11' kayaks, some better quality than others. Is this stretch doable in smaller boats, or are the larger kayaks the only safe way to go?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

juliachaos
Dimensional Kopelli

Re: Glen Canyon Dam to Lee's Ferry

Post by juliachaos » Mar 23 2016 2:27 pm

1. We went in early June 2014 and the temps were perfect! The cold water was a nice compliment to the sunshine, and we even caught a few fish.