Weird urban wildlife sighting

Moderator: HAZ - Moderators

Linked Guides none
Linked Areas none
JimmyLyding
City, State: Walnut Creek, CA

Weird urban wildlife sighting

Post by JimmyLyding » Oct 29 2009 8:18 pm

I was having lunch with my mom today @ the Duck & Decanter near 16th Street/Camelback here in Phoenix, when a roadrunner made an appearance. My mom lives within a stone's throw of the Phx Mountain Preserve, so we're used to seeing these cool little beasties. It acted just as expected: makes an appearance, checks around, and then disappeared. However, we were both very surprised to see one in the middle of north central Phoenix. Anyone else seen anything similar?
The only other situation I can remember at this moment was seeing a large, healthy-looking coyote cross in front of my car late one night when I was an undergrad at the U of A on Elm Street just west of Country Club.

JoelHazelton
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Weird urban wildlife sighting

Post by JoelHazelton » Oct 29 2009 8:26 pm

Wow, that roadrunner made it pretty far!
"Arizona is the land of contrast... You can go from Minnesota to California in a matter of minutes, then have Mexican food that night." -Jack Dykinga

http://www.joelhazelton.com

joebartels

Post by joebartels » Oct 29 2009 8:28 pm

JamesLyding wrote:Duck & Decanter
Dang I haven't been there since the 80's
Hike Arizona it ROCKS!

big_load
City, State: Andover, NJ

Post by big_load » Oct 29 2009 8:39 pm

I've never seen one anywhere close to town.

JimmyLyding

Post by JimmyLyding » Oct 29 2009 8:48 pm

The Duck & Decanter rocks (especially the days when they have Five Star Mushroom soup). I was at a party at the Quadrangles Apartments on University just east of ASU one night, and we heard that someone found a black bear cub there that night. I didn't believe it, but it was confirmed in the paper the next morning.