HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App

App support

Moderator: HAZ - Moderators

Linked Guides none
Linked Areas none
Post Reply
User avatar
joebartels
teva joe
Posts: 6971
Joined: Nov 20 1996 12:00 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App

Post by joebartels » Jan 31 2014 8:46 pm

Aug 2015 >>>>> Route Scout <<<<< replaces this app
Aug 2015 >>>>> Route Scout <<<<< replaces this app
Aug 2015 >>>>> Route Scout <<<<< replaces this app
Aug 2015 >>>>> Route Scout <<<<< replaces this app
Aug 2015 >>>>> Route Scout <<<<< replaces this app



HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App
● record hikes
● import & export
● offline topo & satellite maps

Android
1.8.22
Image

iPhone
1.8.23
Image

Quirks ( not a HAZ Tracks issue )
- Nexus w/Jellybean off line maps do not work, consider upgrading to 4.4 or higher
- Moto X not working? try "Device only" rather than "High accuracy"
- Android 4.1.1 map freezes, upgrade your device to 4.1.2 or higher

Windows Mobile - Current status :next: viewtopic.php?f=84&t=8120&p=103519#p103519



Image

Hike Arizona it ROCKS!

User avatar
cdeperro
Exploring Kokopelli
Posts: 19
Joined: Jun 17 2013 10:24 am
City, State: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App

Post by cdeperro » Oct 11 2014 9:34 pm

@skatchkins

I agree that's what it does. But we don't know what winotron or hippiepunkpirate (who brought up the issue) have their settings on. It could be on Battery Saver, and that could be the issue. Or not :) I like to look for the obvious first.

Thanks for testing
Chris

User avatar
skatchkins
D’Avy Crockettpelli
Posts: 288
Joined: Dec 22 2007 8:08 pm
City, State: Mesa, AZ
Contact:

Re: HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App

Post by skatchkins » Oct 12 2014 2:33 pm

@cdeperro
Copy that.
For science, my Power Saving mode is on and does not affect the GPS.
May he guide you through the wilderness : protect you through the storm;
May he bring you home rejoicing : at the wonders he has shown you;
Armchair Crisis Design

User avatar
hippiepunkpirate
Chameleon Kokopelli
Posts: 1218
Joined: May 30 2008 7:43 am
City, State: Peoria, AZ
Contact:

Re: HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App

Post by hippiepunkpirate » Oct 17 2014 12:17 pm

My problems are solved with my new phone. It's a Galaxy S4. Locked into <10' accuracy within about 5 seconds of hitting "begin activity". Maintained signal flawlessly throughout the hike, even with the device inside my backpack. Bravo : app : As for the previous problems with my Galaxy S3, I believe that the accuracy was not even dropping below 2000', but obviously I'm good to go now :D
My website: Mountain Tripper
I also write for: Territory Supply

User avatar
winotron
Exploring Kokopelli
Posts: 28
Joined: Nov 12 2013 9:39 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Re: HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App

Post by winotron » Oct 17 2014 1:57 pm

@joe bartels
Tried a few more times now in different places, Joe, and still can't get it to go below 20 ft. It just hovers at 20-22ft the majority of the time.

User avatar
joebartels
teva joe
Posts: 6971
Joined: Nov 20 1996 12:00 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Re: HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App

Post by joebartels » Oct 17 2014 2:17 pm

@winotron are you on HAZ Tracks 1.8.6 ? ( it shows at the bottom of the first screen )
Hike Arizona it ROCKS!

User avatar
RowdyandMe
Exploring Kokopelli
Posts: 762
Joined: Jul 16 2012 5:48 am
City, State: Deer Valley, AZ

Re: HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App

Post by RowdyandMe » Oct 17 2014 2:19 pm

@hippiepunkpirate
Funny I have the Galaxy s3 and it works perfect. always under 10' and it just takes a few seconds :y:
Rowdy and Widowmaker

User avatar
cdeperro
Exploring Kokopelli
Posts: 19
Joined: Jun 17 2013 10:24 am
City, State: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App

Post by cdeperro » Oct 19 2014 4:42 pm

@ Joe Bartels ...is there (or could there be) an option to just select Google Maps (with terrain) like you use on the desktop version of HAZ?

Today I was hiking in the Phoenix Sonoran Preserve, it was very bright, and hard to read the aerials (though I LOVE having them as a layer). The topo maps don't show any trails in the Phoenix Sonoran Preserve, because they are too new. However, Google Maps does.

I got a bit off track at a trail junction and ended up opening Google Maps app to see which trail I was on. I would have LOVED to just change layers in HAZ Tracks instead...

Do I need to send you cash? :)

Chris

User avatar
joebartels
teva joe
Posts: 6971
Joined: Nov 20 1996 12:00 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Re: HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App

Post by joebartels » Oct 19 2014 5:02 pm

@cdeperro the copyright on that would be a mess
Hike Arizona it ROCKS!

User avatar
cdeperro
Exploring Kokopelli
Posts: 19
Joined: Jun 17 2013 10:24 am
City, State: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App

Post by cdeperro » Oct 19 2014 7:59 pm

@joe bartels

Ah, OK. I wasn't sure since the aerials were available that it wasn't just making other Google layers available as well :) Thanks!

Chris

User avatar
hippiepunkpirate
Chameleon Kokopelli
Posts: 1218
Joined: May 30 2008 7:43 am
City, State: Peoria, AZ
Contact:

Re: HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App

Post by hippiepunkpirate » Oct 19 2014 10:34 pm

Went GoKart racing on Friday night...nearly fired up HAZ Tracks to try to figure out how fast we were going.
My website: Mountain Tripper
I also write for: Territory Supply

User avatar
winotron
Exploring Kokopelli
Posts: 28
Joined: Nov 12 2013 9:39 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Re: HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App

Post by winotron » Oct 24 2014 11:56 am

@joe bartels
I was on 1.8.5. I upgraded to 1.8.6 and I've tried it a few more times. Still the same. :( Just out of curiosity I installed HAZ Tracks on my girlfriend's phone, which is an HTC One with the same version of Android I have. I tried it in the same places I'm trying it on my phone and it works fine. Hers locks on at 7-9 ft within a few seconds. Maybe my phone's GPS just isn't any good.

Edit: I did a little bit of research on my phone's GPS and I guess the chip is the Qualcomm WTR1605L, the same chip as the Nexus 4. Not sure if that information helps any.

User avatar
joebartels
teva joe
Posts: 6971
Joined: Nov 20 1996 12:00 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Re: HAZ Tracks - GPS Hiking App

Post by joebartels » Jan 04 2015 11:29 pm

The Android version updated to 1.8.8 tonight to update dependencies. Just a heads up for those that use a shortcut or bookmark. That shortcut on your device will probably disappear and need to be reestablished. So in your apps menu ( the button that is a cluster of square dots ) you would re-drag the HAZ Tracks icon to wherever you like, such as your home screen or bottom toolbar.
Hike Arizona it ROCKS!

User avatar
SAMBA
Exploring Kokopelli
Posts: 267
Joined: Oct 02 2009 12:59 pm
City, State: Tucson, AZ

Re: mobile

Post by SAMBA » Jan 13 2015 7:34 am

I've never gotten HAZ Track on my Android phone to ever get past the "Determining accuracy" dialog box. Is this the behavior you're referring to when you say "The mobile site hasn't been working at all the last couple days"? If not, then how do I set my Moto X to the NON-Infinity mode for "Determining accuracy"?

User avatar
BobP
Cairn Reaper
Posts: 1607
Joined: Feb 26 2008 3:43 pm
City, State: Scottsdale, AZ

Re: mobile

Post by BobP » Jan 13 2015 7:41 am

@SAMBA
Go to setting..location...mode and make sure gps is set to high accuracy...or maybe something similar on yours.

from google
PS Location - Moto X™
[Device-Specific Instructions]
Caution Satellite GPS requires more power and has a greater effect on battery life.

From a home screen, select Apps Apps icon (located at the bottom).
From the 'APPS' tab, select Settings.
From the 'PERSONAL' section, select Location.
Select the 'Location' ON/OFF switch to enable Switch On icon or disable Switch Off icon.
Note If presented with the 'Location consent' prompt, select Agree to continue.
Note If presented with the 'Google Location consent' prompt, select Agree to continue.
http://www.blindmotivation.com
http://www.seeitourway.org
Always pronounce Egeszsegedre properly......
If you like this triplog you must be a friend of BrunoP

User avatar
SAMBA
Exploring Kokopelli
Posts: 267
Joined: Oct 02 2009 12:59 pm
City, State: Tucson, AZ

Re: mobile

Post by SAMBA » Jan 13 2015 8:34 am

I just had an epiphany. All my settings seem to be correct, but I don't think HAZ Tracks is going to work on my Republic Wireless Moto X until I enroll in one of RW's 3G or 4G plans. I'm currently enrolled on RW's semi-cheap ("CHEAP"?, $10/month cash money!) wireless access plan. I get unlimited talk, text, and data as long as I have wi-fi access, but I get just talk and text on Sprint 3G when I'm out of wi-fi range. I expect I'd need an uninterrupted data flow for HAZ Tracks to work.

User avatar
chumley
budding artist
Posts: 6820
Joined: Sep 18 2002 8:59 am
City, State: Tempe, AZ

Re: mobile

Post by chumley » Jan 13 2015 8:45 am

SAMBA wrote: I get unlimited data as long as I have wi-fi access,
:sl:
That's like saying you can eat dinner at an all-you-can-eat buffet, as long as you don't ever get out of your chair.
smoke it

User avatar
chumley
budding artist
Posts: 6820
Joined: Sep 18 2002 8:59 am
City, State: Tempe, AZ

Re: mobile

Post by chumley » Jan 13 2015 8:48 am

HAZ Tracks works just fine on Android without data. In fact, it works on a phone that isn't even activated for cell service. As long as your phone has a GPS radio built into it. Current version of Moto X has GPS. I don't know about previous versions.

Edit: Moto X v1 for RW has GPS and GLONASS. HAZ Tracks should work anywhere regardless of your wireless plan.
smoke it

User avatar
SAMBA
Exploring Kokopelli
Posts: 267
Joined: Oct 02 2009 12:59 pm
City, State: Tucson, AZ

Re: mobile

Post by SAMBA » Jan 13 2015 9:20 am

@chumley
" :sl:"!!!!! Can you believe there are some (all?) members of the opposite sex who feel we men are just unfeeling, uncaring louts?

Well, so much for my epiphany nonsense! Do you or any of my fellow HAZ peeps have any insights why Haz Tracks doesn't work on my Moto X? I just went outside with my Moto X and ran around like a daft ol' buzzard, but never got to the 27' accuracy tipping point to turn the dialog box off. Got it to 28', but I had to get back in the house before my neighbors ratted me out as the neighborhood "daft o'l buzzard".

User avatar
The_Eagle
The Bunyan Blind Raptor
Posts: 1077
Joined: Jan 20 2009 2:46 pm
City, State: Far NE Phoenix, Az
Contact:

Re: mobile

Post by The_Eagle » Jan 13 2015 9:25 am

@SAMBA
Did you read BobP's reply to you above?
There is a very fine line between "hobby" and "mental illness."
Dave Barry

User avatar
chumley
budding artist
Posts: 6820
Joined: Sep 18 2002 8:59 am
City, State: Tempe, AZ

Re: mobile

Post by chumley » Jan 13 2015 9:25 am

@SAMBA
Start reading here: viewtopic.php?f=84&t=8120&hilit=haz+tra ... 00#p104542

Same phone. Same problem.
smoke it

Post Reply

Return to “HAZ Apps”


cron