Route Scout hangs on "loading"

App support

Moderator: HAZ - Moderators

Linked Guides none
Linked Areas none
User avatar
JasonCleghorn
Posts: 470
Joined: Nov 11 2014 1:03 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Route Scout hangs on "loading"

Post by JasonCleghorn » Dec 11 2015 1:44 pm

for Android today?

When I launch it just says loading at the top with settings import and info icons below and won't progress. Never had any problem before...
Follow me on Instagram: hikingjason
"It's not the mountains that we conquer, but ourselves"
"HAZ is not a meet-up group. Unless you're in the IN group, then its a meet-up group"

User avatar
joebartels
Posts: 6989
Joined: Nov 20 1996 12:00 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by joebartels » Dec 11 2015 2:19 pm

The Dev Team says nothing has changed in three weeks when 2.1.7 was released. Just checked on several phones, all loaded fine.

Force stop the app and restart. In android you can use the device back key to exit the app. If that doesn't work go into application manager and force stop. If that doesn't work something is screwy as in settings changed. You could remove and reload but if the permissions that the app ask for are not accepted it won't work any better.
Hike Arizona it ROCKS!

User avatar
JasonCleghorn
Posts: 470
Joined: Nov 11 2014 1:03 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by JasonCleghorn » Dec 11 2015 2:24 pm

I tried all of that... Nothing. Haven't touched any settings or anything...

I even uninstalled and reinstalled, accepted the permissions, etc.

I guess its back to HAZ Tracks...
Follow me on Instagram: hikingjason
"It's not the mountains that we conquer, but ourselves"
"HAZ is not a meet-up group. Unless you're in the IN group, then its a meet-up group"

User avatar
joebartels
Posts: 6989
Joined: Nov 20 1996 12:00 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by joebartels » Dec 11 2015 2:46 pm

Low memory or storage would cause erratic behaviour but it should still load the homepage.

In Android if the "transfer to sdcard" option was used and the card is removed would be an issue.

Other apps can interfere too. Especially those that claim to make your phone better or faster. Since you already reinstalled, I'd reboot the phone and go into app manager and stop anything that isn't a device app. Something has changed and it seems doubtful it's RS. Perhaps there was a recent Android update I don't have that's interfering too. But it's probably easier to blame it on RS...lol
Hike Arizona it ROCKS!

User avatar
skatchkins
Posts: 291
Joined: Dec 22 2007 8:08 pm
City, State: Mesa, AZ
Contact:

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by skatchkins » Dec 11 2015 2:50 pm

Android 4.4.2 checking in. Working fine.
May he guide you through the wilderness : protect you through the storm;
May he bring you home rejoicing : at the wonders he has shown you;
Armchair Crisis Design

User avatar
JasonCleghorn
Posts: 470
Joined: Nov 11 2014 1:03 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by JasonCleghorn » Dec 11 2015 2:51 pm

I think there was an Android update yesterday, to be honest... :) Thanks for the responses, Dev Team... :)
Follow me on Instagram: hikingjason
"It's not the mountains that we conquer, but ourselves"
"HAZ is not a meet-up group. Unless you're in the IN group, then its a meet-up group"

User avatar
JasonCleghorn
Posts: 470
Joined: Nov 11 2014 1:03 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by JasonCleghorn » Dec 11 2015 3:09 pm

Any other ideas IT gurus? I've tried all that. I really don't want to go back to HAZ Tracks, although it seems to be working fine... :)
Follow me on Instagram: hikingjason
"It's not the mountains that we conquer, but ourselves"
"HAZ is not a meet-up group. Unless you're in the IN group, then its a meet-up group"

User avatar
joebartels
Posts: 6989
Joined: Nov 20 1996 12:00 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by joebartels » Dec 11 2015 3:17 pm

I would not recommend the following unless all else fails.
settings > application manager > route scout > clear data & clear cache

That seems unlikely to help if the homepage doesn't load. It's not loading because there is an error in the code. Since we know RS hasn't changed then something else is interfering. What is the question. Javascript disabled in settings somewhere or by some other app is the most likely scenario but it could be an update by Android gone bad.

If there was an update recently and you haven't recently added any apps since it last worked then it may be the update. I'm definitely keeping an eye out for updates now!
Hike Arizona it ROCKS!

User avatar
JasonCleghorn
Posts: 470
Joined: Nov 11 2014 1:03 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by JasonCleghorn » Dec 11 2015 3:32 pm

FWIW, I even tried the last resort of clear cache and data and it still wouldn't work. Oh well..
Follow me on Instagram: hikingjason
"It's not the mountains that we conquer, but ourselves"
"HAZ is not a meet-up group. Unless you're in the IN group, then its a meet-up group"

User avatar
joebartels
Posts: 6989
Joined: Nov 20 1996 12:00 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by joebartels » Dec 11 2015 3:36 pm

does HAZ Tracks work?
Hike Arizona it ROCKS!

User avatar
JasonCleghorn
Posts: 470
Joined: Nov 11 2014 1:03 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by JasonCleghorn » Dec 11 2015 3:52 pm

joe bartels wrote:does HAZ Tracks work?
Like a charm... :)
Follow me on Instagram: hikingjason
"It's not the mountains that we conquer, but ourselves"
"HAZ is not a meet-up group. Unless you're in the IN group, then its a meet-up group"

User avatar
hikingaz2
Posts: 13
Joined: Dec 16 2011 11:40 am
City, State: Mesa,Az

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by hikingaz2 » Dec 11 2015 3:56 pm

@Jason Cleghorn
Just tried my Galaxy 6 with yesterdays update installed, opened RS up and walked around the house all is fine, sorry can't be of any more help, it would be like losing a best friend if I couldn't use RS !!!!

User avatar
JasonCleghorn
Posts: 470
Joined: Nov 11 2014 1:03 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by JasonCleghorn » Dec 11 2015 3:57 pm

Also, I'm not from Georgia, LOL.
Follow me on Instagram: hikingjason
"It's not the mountains that we conquer, but ourselves"
"HAZ is not a meet-up group. Unless you're in the IN group, then its a meet-up group"

User avatar
JasonCleghorn
Posts: 470
Joined: Nov 11 2014 1:03 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by JasonCleghorn » Dec 15 2015 3:52 pm

I thought I'd update if for no other reason than I'm crestfallen about losing Route Scout. I believe there was an Android system update last night/this morning and I was praying that somehow it would do the update and be fixed, but alas, no... The only reason that I'm really sad, is that HAZ Tracks seems to lose connection much more than Route Scout. Drawing straight lines between points, etc. as opposed to actually following the track you're hiking. Toggling between the camera etc has NO effect in Route Scout and some in HAZ Tracks.

Perhaps I'm just despondently whining... Maybe.
Follow me on Instagram: hikingjason
"It's not the mountains that we conquer, but ourselves"
"HAZ is not a meet-up group. Unless you're in the IN group, then its a meet-up group"

User avatar
joebartels
Posts: 6989
Joined: Nov 20 1996 12:00 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by joebartels » Dec 15 2015 7:05 pm

What version of Android are you running?
Hike Arizona it ROCKS!

User avatar
JasonCleghorn
Posts: 470
Joined: Nov 11 2014 1:03 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ
Contact:

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by JasonCleghorn » Dec 15 2015 7:54 pm

joe bartels wrote:What version of Android are you running?
5.0
Follow me on Instagram: hikingjason
"It's not the mountains that we conquer, but ourselves"
"HAZ is not a meet-up group. Unless you're in the IN group, then its a meet-up group"

User avatar
big_load
Posts: 4347
Joined: Oct 28 2003 11:20 am
City, State: Andover, NJ

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by big_load » Dec 15 2015 7:54 pm

I've had a couple instances where a power cycle was needed to for Route Scout to latch onto the GPS.

User avatar
joebartels
Posts: 6989
Joined: Nov 20 1996 12:00 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by joebartels » Dec 15 2015 8:03 pm

I've been on 5.0.1 for a half year. Which works a lot better than 5.0

However the issue you are having is that it's not loading the code. It says loading because the code hasn't been loaded. If you are absolutely sure you don't have other apps interfering then it sounds like it's the update. 4.1.1 for instance absolutely would not work.
Hike Arizona it ROCKS!

User avatar
joebartels
Posts: 6989
Joined: Nov 20 1996 12:00 pm
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by joebartels » Dec 15 2015 8:05 pm

@big_load if it doesn't start in a couple minutes it is best to stop and restart the app

5.0 and lower has an occasional issue where it won't latch on
Hike Arizona it ROCKS!

User avatar
Pivo
Posts: 112
Joined: Mar 01 2009 8:18 pm
City, State: Tucson, AZ

Re: Joe did you do 'something' to Route Scout

Post by Pivo » Dec 16 2015 8:22 am

Something may be going on with the app. Sunday it didn't log an hour of my workout, and today it didn't log 33 minutes.

Post Reply

Return to “HAZ Apps”


cron