AZT Gear?

Moderators: HAZ - Moderators, AZT - Moderators

Linked Descriptions None
mando
Lil' Kokopelli
City, State: candler, NC

AZT Gear?

Postby mando » Nov 07 2016 5:37 pm

Hello! I'm a newbie and very grateful for this site. My wife and I plan to start a NOBO hike of the AZT, starting in March 2017. We have a good bit of experience in Appalachia, Blueridge. But the desert is another beast. I have a couple of specific equipment questions and would appreciate guidance from experienced AZT hikers.

1. Sleeping pad. I prefer a blow-up, such as the Neo Air because I'm a side sleeper, but am wondering if the desert is too prickly for it. Am I better off with a foam pad, such as thermarest Z-lite? Or, is this a campsite selection issue, and not an equipment issue?

2. Hanging Food. I hang my food here, but we have plenty of trees. What is a wise way of securing food during the night? I have used an Outsak before, in the Grand Canyon, but don't want to carry it if it isn't necessary/helpful.

Thanks!!
Mando

Dave1
Buttonose Chipmunk
City, State: Phoenix, AZ

Re: AZT Gear?

Postby Dave1 » Nov 07 2016 6:22 pm

Every campsite below the rim on the GC-AZT will have an ammo can to store your food. But hanging has worked fine for me outside of the corridor trails.

rcorfman
Trendsettin' Kokopelli

Postby rcorfman » Nov 07 2016 8:18 pm

An inflatable sleeping pad should work fine. Of course you will want to preen the ground under your tent or groundsheet to ensure there are no thorns, but that shouldn't be a big problem.

There probably won't be a reason to hang food anywhere on the trail. As Dave1 mentioned, any campsite along the Grand Canyon corridor you stay at will have large ammo cans to place your food in. If you just want to make sure your food is okay, you can easily find a tree or large bush most anywhere to get your bag off the ground enough to keep any small critters at bay.
Go find a LonelyCache

big_load
You talkin' to me peli
City, State: Andover, NJ